MIA

July 13, 2011 at 12:25 pm (Uncategorized)

I really haven’t been missing in action. I just haven’t posted for a couple of months. In blog years, that’s a century.

There’s no particular reason why I haven’t posted anything new,  just a convergence of  circumstances: family, work, TV, movies, Facebook, emails – the usual detritus of life. Okay, I’ll be honest here – I really haven’t had anything to write that I thought anyone would be interested in reading.

Unfortunately, that lack of writing has extended to, well, to writing. There’s nothing to report about the fate of Unleavened Dead, yet, but at least I don’t have a pile of rejections. Just silence. I did write a short story, my first attempt, and submitted it to a contest. It didn’t win, but it did make it through the first cut – it was one of 50 chosen out of 150 to go on to the final cull of 5, from which the winner and 4 runners-up were picked. It was gratifying – and validifying (if that’s not a word, it should be) – to know it wasn’t tossed immediately. I’ve ideas for a couple of non-fiction works, and, of course, there’s Yom Killer to plot out.  I’m not near the whodunnit stage; I’m still in the “what’s going to happen?” stage.

Then there are the conferences. So far in 2011, I’ve been to Sleuthfest in FL and Malice Domestic in Bethesda. Next are Deadly Ink in Parsippany and Crime Bake in the Boston area. I’m hoping to get inspired to start my writing regimen again. Oh, right, I don’t have one.

In the meantime, if you’d like to see how I spent my summer vacation, I just added 4 new albums of pictures to my Facebook page: www.facebook.com/rabbi.author.

And I hope next time I post, I’ll be past the summer doldrums (hey, great excuse!) and have all kinds of funny, helpful, exciting news to report.

Leave a Reply

